Buy 0, get 2 free…Now that’s great customer service

Posted on Updated on


As most marketing folk know, good customer service is as the very heart of marketing. Even if your actual product is fantastic, if you deliver it in a shoddy manner without much thought for the customer service experience, you’re far less likely to have loyal customers spreading the word about how great you are – which is surely the holy grail of successful business.

A man who clearly understood this concept was Julius Rosenwold, the driving force behind Sears (official name Sears, Roebuck and Co) becoming the worlds largest retailer, who once said: “My ambition is to stand at both sides of the counter at once.”

Another firm who also understand this appears to be Tesco. On Tuesday this week I bought some toothpaste from my local store. The rational for my brand choice was simple: it was buy-one-get-one-free!

However when I checked my receipt on the way out (I had brought some other items too) I realised I had been charged full price for both items. As soon as I complained about this to the very friendly customer services lady, she apologised and said that when such mistakes happen with Tesco’s price scanning technology, both items are free!

To coin a well used strap line, every little helps – and it certainly did in this situation. Tesco, I doth my virtual cap to your customer service!

One thought on “Buy 0, get 2 free…Now that’s great customer service

    Neil Rowley said:
    May 24, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    Agree with most of this but even non-established awards are worth going for as they create massive employee involvement and excitement. We have won three in the last five years (shop fitting industry).

Leave a Reply

